Facebook Twitter LinkedIn YouTube E-mail RSS

Welcome to Scott Spot Radio!

Scott Spot Radio is your home for great rock from yesterday to today!

Home Uncategorized Fuel announce 2015 ECHL Protected List

Fuel announce 2015 ECHL Protected List

Published on June 3, 2015 by

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indy Fuel, proud ECHL affiliate of the NHL’s Chicago Blackhawks and the AHL’s Rockford IceHogs, announced Tuesday their 2015 ECHL Protected List, comprised of 18 total players; 12 forwards, five defensemen and one goaltender.

Indy’s list of protected forwards includes 2014-15 Fuel leading scorer and assistant captain Garett Bembridge, Kyle Stroh, Matt White, Chris DeSousa, Peter Schneider, Rhett Bly, Johnny McGuire, Evan Vossen, Pete Massar, Nicklas Lindberg, Jonathan Parker and inaugural captain Mike Duco. 2014-15 assistant captain and defending top-scoring blue-liner Nick Bruneteau highlights the Fuel’s group of protected defensemen, along with Anders Franzon, Saverio Posa, Doug Jessey and Andy Simpson, while Indy’s lone protected goaltender is Shane Owen. The Fuel’s Protected List features three veteran skaters (Bembridge, Duco and Lindberg) and four rookie skaters (Jessey, Simpson, Schneider and DeSousa).

“From this list we have the opportunity to bring back a core of players who learned to win together last season,” said Fuel Head Coach and VP of Hockey Operations Scott Hillman on Tuesday. “Many of these players have expressed strong interest in returning to Indianapolis to help continue building this franchise into one that our great fans will be proud of.”

According to the ECHL, Member Clubs are allowed to protect as many players as they wish, provided the players protected meet the guidelines defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

  1. Signed a Standard Player Contract (SPC) in 2014-15 with the Member Club and has not been traded or released, OR
  2. Signed an SPC in 2014-15 and was recalled to an NHL, AHL or IIHF team and has not been traded or released, OR
  3. Had received a Qualifying Offer the previous summer for the current season, DID NOT sign an SPC and has not been traded or released, OR
  4. Has been suspended by the Member Club or League and has not been traded or released, OR
  5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2014-15 regular season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract and has not been traded or released, OR
  6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced Tuesday that Member Clubs must complete all 2014-15 Future Considerations trades by 3:00 pm EST on June 13th and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3:00 pm EST on June 15th. Season-Ending Rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2014-15.

 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn
No Comments  comments 

You must be logged in to post a comment.